New Music Friday: Larghetto and Allegro

While this work is denoted as Symphony No. 3, it is more likely that it is Stamitz’s first completed symphony. It is written in the ‘Manheim’ style (utilizing unique dynamic effects) and was finished sometime between 1741 and 1746. It is attributed to Stamitz; only it may have actually been completed by a close friend and contemporary composer, Antoine Mahaut, (a Flemish composer and flutist). It consists of three movements – Allegro, Larghetto, and Presto and is in the key of G Major.

About Larghetto and Allegro

  • No title 00:00

The Larghetto needs to be connected smooth and ‘fluid’ throughout.
Shifting to the Allegro, be sure to bring out the moving lines in the upper voices. The lower voices (VC & DBs) need to be accentuated and cleanly articulated. Be sure to perform the dynamics with dedication.

About Robert D. McCashin

In addition to an extensive list of publications, Dr. McCashin holds the title of Professor Emeritus, having completed 43 years of teaching at the university level. His former position was as Director of Orchestras and Professor of Conducting and Violin at James Madison University. During Dr. McCashin’s final 24 years of teaching (at JMU), he served as the Music Director and Conductor of the Symphony Orchestra, Opera Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, and Camerata Strings. In addition, he taught Graduate Applied Conducting, MM, and DM academic courses for conductors as well as applied violin & viola. Dr. McCashin is a string educator and an active writer/arranger in the string education field. He maintained a busy Conference presentation schedule throughout his career, making presentations on conducting technique, string pedagogy, and the Math, Science, Physics, and Physiology of String playing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our mailing list

Be the first to know about new music, exciting news, deals and more!